Nau mai haere mai

Founded in 1926, Hutt Valley High School, Te Kura Tuarua o Te Awakairangi, has been a leader in secondary education in Lower Hutt for over 90 years. We provide a quality state education that ensures that every one of our students has the best possible chance to develop their strengths and talents and to achieve success in a way that provides them with a purposeful and rewarding future life.

In its Strategic Plan for the current period 2019 - 2021, the school is focused on helping our students to be healthy, happy and engaged young people who participate in the vast array of activities offered at the school, and who enjoy tremendous success academically while serving others both in their school and wider society. Our school reflects the cultural richness and diversity of modern New Zealand and in this large community there is ample opportunity for all students to find like minds and so develop lasting friendships which contribute to student happiness and well-being. Our diversity is our greatest strength.

Sadly our beloved Principal of 10 years, Ross Sinclair passed away late last year. Ross was a superb leader and generous and kind man. His legacy is a school that is kind and welcoming, diverse and inclusive, and works to shape the learning environment to fit the student versus the student having to fit it.

Ross also leaves a very strong and competent senior leadership team who have been integral in the growth of culture and curriculum over the last 10 years. This work will continue.

The senior leadership team for the first 2 terms of 2021 is as follows:

Principal - Denise Johnson

Deputy Principal - Tim Fox (Operational)

Deputy Principal - Nick Larkin (Teaching and Learning)

Deputy Principal - Kareen Kennedy (Staff Wellbeing)

Acting Assistant Principal - Grace Wright (Student Wellbeing)

Acting Assistant Principal - Fiona Pearson (Curriculum)

The team is supported by Jodie Murden our Principal's Assistant