Principal’s Welcome  

Nau mai haere mai - welcome to HVHS

Hutt Valley High School (HVHS) Te Kura Tuarua o Te Awakairangi was founded in 1926, and has been a leader in secondary education in Lower Hutt for over 90 years. We provide a quality state education that ensures that every one of our students has the best possible chance to develop their strengths and talents and to achieve success in a way that provides them with a purposeful and rewarding future life.

The school is focused on helping our students to be healthy, happy and engaged young people who participate in the vast array of activities offered at the school, and who enjoy tremendous success academically, culturally, socially and in sports and performing arts. Our school reflects the cultural richness and diversity of modern New Zealand. In this large community, there is ample opportunity for all students to find like minds and develop lasting friendships. Our diversity is our greatest strength, and we celebrate it and each individual at every opportunity.

Our school strives to be kind and welcoming, and inclusive. We work hard to shape the learning environment to fit the student versus the student having to fit it. There is a space and a place for everyone at Hutt Valley High School.

Our senior leadership team is as follows:

Principal - Denise Johnson

Deputy Principal - Tim Fox (Operational)

Deputy Principal - Nick Larkin (Curriculum Design & Pedagogical Leadership)

Deputy Principal - Fiona Pearson (Staff Wellbeing & Development)

Deputy Principal - Grace Wright (Student Wellbeing & Culturally Responsive Practice)

Deputy Principal - Rob Everett (Student Wellbeing & Achievement)

The team is supported by our Business Manager, Hayley McLean, and Property Manager, Simon Kydd.

Jodie Murden is the International Director,  and Jacinta Keenan, the Sports Director.

Please click here for further enrolment details or ring our office staff, who can help you.

Ngā mihi nui

Denise Johnson